On April 8th, Virtual War Memorial Australia awarded Megan a Champion Medal at the 2024 Schools Program Excellence Awards.

The award recognises “Champions of the Virtual War Memorial Australia”.

Virtual War Memorial Australia is Australia’s largest online war memorial, with 1.5 millions records in its collection. It’s main mission “is to provide a worthy home, in perpetuity, for the records and the personal experiences of all people who have served in wars, conflicts and peacekeeping operations, and the impact of this service on the individuals, their families and communities.”

In partnership with the South Australian Department for Education, Virtual War Memorial Australia provides teaching and learning resources for the Australian Schools Curriculum: “History Years 9 and 10, and Civics and Citizenship at Year 10.”

In the past 3 years, Megan has created 4 major commemorative podcasts as free educational resources for the VWMA’s innovative Schools Program. Released on the VWMA website between February 2023 and April 2024, collectively the immersive, multi-part podcasts have received thousands of downloads – and counting.

The award is an acknowledgment of Megan’s audio work, body of work, and dedication to crafting the very human stories behind service and sacrifice, and the impact of service on members and their families. Deep listening is at the heart of her work.

More used to being around people who have been issued medals rather receiving them (!), Megan was super surprised by the VWMA’s kind acknowledgment. It was an uplifting experience.

After being awarded her first ever medal Megan says, “It was a lovely, unexpected honour, and it means a lot.”

She was lost for words thanking VWMA’s CEO Sharyn Roberts and Chair Peter Williams, later adding on a LinkedIn post, “Viva remembrance! Viva podcasts!”

She shared the honour with Blair Boyer MP, South Australia’s Minister for Education, also awarded a VWMA Champion Medal on the day.

Listen to all 4 of the VWMA Schools podcasts at the links below:

Photo credits:

  • VWMA Schools Program Excellence Awards ceremony:  Warren Melling
  • Feature image: Oliver Budack